Manchester Stirs, The World Slumbers

Manchester - So Much To Answer For

Photo: Neil101

Within a week, two of the biggest bands of my teenage years announce new singles and albums. The Verve return from their extended hiatus with Forth, to be realised August 18th. Lead single Love Is Noise is currently doing the rounds on the web, and you can find a link below.

Oasis, or to be more precise the hulking shadow of what used to be Oasis, kick out their latest offering on October 6th. Dig Out Your Soul is the Gallagher’s seventh LP, and depsite all the usual bombast surrounding the release I think we all know what to expect. The Shock Of Lightning (“a demo” according to Noel) precedes it on September 29th.

What makes this all the more sad is that the two of these used to be great, and would have represented big red circles on my calendar. Now I couldn’t be less bothered.

The Verve – Love Is Noise

5 Responses

  1. horrible. incredibly disappointing. I’ve always been a huge fan, but this is as bad as recent U2, & makes coldplay sound good. horrible.

  2. I agree. I heard this song live at their Vegas show and it sounded awful then. The sample just doesnt work. Plus the lyrics are completely lazy (“I was blind… couldn’t see – groan). New U2 is 1000x better than this. Sounds like a Happy Mondays demo.

  3. I agree, the sample is way too distracting, not that it would be good otherwise.

  4. The Verve are from Wigan, it’s like saying The Office is set in London.

  5. Agreed. Lazy blogging on my part. Did wonder how long it would take someone to mention it though…what do you think of the track? At the moment it’s a bit like a guilty pleasure, I know I shouldn’t like it, but I can’t get the damn thing out of my head.

Leave a Reply

